The history of the village dates back to a charter of around 1215 showing that the Lord Rhys ap Grufudd gave the land to the Bishop of St David's. The land subsequently passed to the Cistercian monks of Strata Florida and the shoreline, like nearby Aberarth, still features their mediaeval fish traps near Llanon.
Meanwhile Llansantffraed church and land north of the river
Peris was granted even earlier to the Knights Hospitallers of St John of
Jerusalem. Unusually this church is dedicated to another female saint namely St
Bridget of Ireland reflecting the links and importance of trade across the
The long stretch of level fertile land from Llanon to Llanrhystud was regularly used for growing barley, leading to plenty of illicit brewing in the early 1800s and perhaps a reason why many ship captains retired to build substantial houses in Llanon.
Discover more fascinating heritage, history and culture here.